Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926) Frank Lloyd Wright (1867-1959) Lucio Costa (1902-98)

TLW's Architectscope™ (Architect Historyscope)

By T.L. Winslow (TLW), the Historyscoper™

© Copyright by T.L. Winslow. All Rights Reserved.

Original Pub. Date: Feb. 27, 2017. Last Update: Mar. 30, 2017.

Alternate url for this page:

What Is A Historyscope?

Westerners are not only known as history ignoramuses, but double dumbass history ignoramuses when it comes to architect history. Since I'm the one-and-only Historyscoper (tm), let me quickly bring you up to speed before you dive into my Master Historyscope.

Antoni Gaudí (1852–1926) Sagrada Familia, 1882-

In 1883 after Francisco Paula de Villar resigns as chief architect (since 1882), Spanish Catalan gaudy Modernist Art Nouveau architect Placid Guillem Gaudi (Gaudí) i Cornet (1852-1926) begins his Sagrada Familia, a large Roman Catholic church in Barcelona, which goes on to become the most visited monument in Spain and a UNESCO World Heritage Site; in Nov. 2010 Pope Benedict XVI consecrates it as a minor basilica.

Lucio Costa (1902-98)

On Apr. 21, 1960 Brasilia, the new more accessible capital of Brazil, designed by Toulon, France-born architect Lucio Costa (1902-98) is inaugurated as the nat. govt. seat, replacing Rio de Janeiro; designed for a pop. of 500K, it zooms to 2M by the end of the cent.

Historyscoper Home Page

© Copyright by T.L. Winslow. All Rights Reserved.

Free counter and web stats