Mary Roberts Rinehart (1876-1958) Josephine Tey (1896-1952)

TLW's Mystery Novelist Historyscope

By T.L. Winslow (TLW), the Historyscoper™

© Copyright by T.L. Winslow. All Rights Reserved.

Original Pub. Date: Aug. 25, 2015. Last Update: Dec. 8, 2016.

Alternate url for this page:

What Is A Historyscope?

Westerners are not only known as history ignoramuses, but double dumbass history ignoramuses when it comes to mystery novelist history. Since I'm the one-and-only Historyscoper (tm), let me quickly bring you up to speed before you dive into my Master Historyscope.

List of Mystery novelists.

Mary Roberts Rinehart (1876-1958) I

In 1906 Allegheny City (Pittsburgh), Penn.-born Mary Roberts Rinehart (nee Mary Ella Roberts) (1876-1958) pub. her first novel The Man in Lower Ten. In 1908 she pub. The Circular Staircase; her first bestseller; the first "had-I-but-known" novel; "a middle-aged spinster is persuaded by her niece and nephew to rent a country house for the summer, which turns out to belong to a banker who has hidden stolen securities in the walls. In 1930 she pub. The Door, which allegedly coins the cliched phrase "the butler did it".

Josephine Tey (1896-1952)

In 1929 Inverness, Scotland-born Josephine Tey (Elizbeth MacKintosh) (1896-1952) pub. The Man in the Queue (Killer in the Crowd) under the alias Gordon Daviot, becoming #1 in the Inspector Alan Grant series (1929-52). In 1936 she follows with A Shilling for Candles (Inspector Alan Grant #2), filmed in 1937 by Alfred Hitchcock as "Young and Innocent". In 1948 she pub. The Franchise Affair (Inspector Alan Grant #3), about a a mother and daughter accused of kidnapping a young local woman; filmed in 1950 starring Michael Denison and Dulcie Gray. In 1950 she pub. To Love and Be Wise (Inspector Allen Grant #4). In 1951 she pub. The Daughter of Time (Inspector Alan Grant #5), with title from the proverb "Truth is the daughter of time"; Grant is confined to a hospital bed with a broken leg, and uses the time to solve the historical mystery of who killed the princes in the Tower, clearing Richard III; greatest crime mystery novel ever published? In 1952 she pub. The Singing Sands (Inspector Alan Grant #6) (last), based on the legend of Iram of the Pillars.

Historyscoper Home Page